Delta surprise releases new Christmas album "Only Santa Knows"
November 12, 2020 by User 0 Comments

Delta surprise releases new Christmas album "Only Santa Knows"

Surprising fans around the world, Delta Goodrem has today released her brand new Christmas album, ONLY SANTA KNOWS. The album includes classic festive season favourites and two new original songs including the title track "Only Santa Knows" and "Merry Christmas To You" with Olivia Newton-John. The album is available to purchase or download here.

“The world has gone through so much this year, so bringing a lot of love and light at Christmas time was very important to me. I was sharing stories during lockdown about how much I love Christmas, and that inspired the writing of ‘Only Santa Knows’. From there, I went on to produce and record the album," explains Delta.

ONLY SANTA KNOWS is packed with festive season favourites including ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’, ‘Rocking Around The Christmas Tree’, ‘Santa Claus Is Coming To Town’, ‘Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer’, along with the much loved classic of ‘Carol Of The Bells’, ‘Silent Night’ featuring the soaring vocals of Gurrumul, ‘River’, ‘White Christmas’ and ‘Grown Up Christmas List’ with every single song conveying the joy and warmth of the holiday season. ONLY SANTA KNOWS also features two original holiday songs, the title track ‘Only Santa Knows’ plus ‘Merry Christmas To You’ featuring long-time friend, Olivia Newton-John. The album has been produced by Delta Goodrem and Matthew Copley, with ‘Silent Night’ produced by Michael Hohnen.

Delta ensured that the record had her own personal touch that she is so well known for, with her piano fingerprints and all instruments being played live. From the range of emotions and tempos included in the record – from triumphant to heartfelt pieces alongside choirs & string arrangements, when curating the track listing she took great inspiration from Frank Sinatra and playlists with staple Christmas songs. From there, she narrowed her extensive list down to songs which felt timeless, and of course songs she could put her own touch on to make the record.

Talking about the songs that feature on ONLY SANTA KNOWS, Delta comments “If I was to share with you what my Christmases were like growing up, it would be through the lyrics of ‘Only Santa Knows’; the cookies you leave for Santa or the carrots outside for the reindeer. And that I truly believed in the magic of Christmas and still do.

“With songs like ‘Rocking Around The Christmas Tree’, I wanted to have those moments on the record where it can be on the background and will get the family up and dancing around the Christmas tree.

“When I was in the middle of my weekly Bunkerdown sessions, I had a request for ‘River’ and I fell in love with singing the song. I realised that at the start of the song, the theme of ‘Jingle Bells’ was so powerful that I wanted to bring that out in the strings. Then when I was playing it on the piano, I thought this was a really special choice as a Christmas song to be a part of the record.

“’Grown Up Christmas List’ has a nice message as we come to the close of the record. The last song on the album is with my dear friend & mentor, Olivia Newton-John, somebody who has been a huge part of my life and my career. When I approached Olivia, I said, ‘The world's gone through so much this year, and I’ve written a song called ‘Merry Christmas To You’, talking about the fact that for some people, Christmas can be a really hard time of year.’ I feel honoured that Olivia and I finish this last song on the album together.”


1. Carol Of The Bells

2. Only Santa Knows

3. The Little Drummer Boy

4. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

5. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

6. River

7. Rocking’ Around The Christmas Tree

8. White Christmas

9. Santa Clause Is Coming To Town

10. Deck The Halls

11. Silent Night (Delta Goodrem & Gurrumul) ** Gurrumul vocal recorded In 2014

12. Grown Up Christmas List

13. Merry Christmas To You (Delta Goodrem & Olivia Newton-John)

Also in